About us

The Sussex Law Society, founded in 1860, is a professional organisation representing solicitors practising in the central Sussex area. It provides valuable benefits to its members including local CPD training, regular social events, a monthly on-line newsletter and free advertising for job vacancies on the website and in the newsletter.

The Sussex Law Society is independent of other Local Law Societies and of the solicitors’ controlling bodies, the Law Society and the Solicitors’ Regulation Authority (SRA). Members include employed solicitors, sole practitioners, firms specialising in particular areas of law, firms carrying on general practice, substantial regional firms, & firms with international connections. As a result, the range and breadth of expertise of its members for both the private and business client is extensive.

The Society’s principal objects include:

  • The protection of the character, status, rights and interests of its members and of the profession of solicitors generally.
  • The promotion of honorable practice among solicitors.
  • The consideration of questions affecting the profession at large, or the alteration or administration of the law, and
  • The promotion of legal education.

Officers & Committee 2019/20

Management of the Society is by a General Committee consisting of the Officers who are elected annually at the AGM (President, Vice-President, Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary) and six elected members. In addition, it includes the Immediate Past President, any member who is a member of the Council of the Law Society and other members co-opted by the elected Committee. Details of the current Committee are given below.

If you are a member interested in joining the Committee, please contact the COO, jeanettelacyscott@btinternet.com



Jacqueline Hardaway

Firm Dawson Hart, Uckfiled

Contact: Email Jacqueline Hardaway

Vice President

Lucy Tarrant

Firm Cognitive Law, Brighton

Contact: Email Lucy Tarrant

Honorary Treasurer

Oliver Maxwell-Jones

Firm Coole Bevis LLP, Brighton

Contact: Email Oliver Maxwell-Jones

Honorary Secretary

Eleanor Richards

Firm Healys LLP, Brighton

Contact: Email Eleanor Richards

Council Member

Patrick Richards

Firm Crosby & Woods Solicitors, Hove

Contact: Email Patrick Richards


General Committee Member (elected 2017)

Simon Rozzier

Firm Griffith Smith LLP, Brighton

Contact: Email Simon Rozzier

General Committee Member (elected 2018)

Jason Bradshaw

Firm Cunningtons LLP, Brighton

Contact: Email Jason Bradshaw

General Committee Member (2019)

Daniel Dickson

Firm Dean Wilson, Brighton

Contact: Email Daniel Dickson

General Committee Member (co-opted)

Gilva Tisshaw

Firm Tisshaws Solicitors, Haywards Heath

Contact: Email Gilva Tisshaw

General Committee Member (co-opted)

Emma Weir

Firm Griffith Smith LLP, Hassocks

Contact: Email Emma Weir


Jeanette Lacy Scott

Firm Sussex Law Society

Contact: Email Jeanette Lacy Scott